

## **AACT Spotlight Award to Melinda Worthington**

The American Association of Community Theatre (AACT) Spotlight Award was presented an outstanding volunteer. Melinda Worthington from the Newton Community Theatre (NCT) was presented on July 26 at the Children's Summer Workshop Production. AACT Representative, Donna Smithson and NCT's President, Dan Schlup presented the award.

Melinda Worthington has been a special friend to the Newton Community Theatre for years. She started attending NCT production with her parents in the early 70's. Melinda has worked backstage for many productions. She was assistant director for "The Sound of Music", she has choreographed many musicals through

the years and she has directed "Mary, Mary", "Night Watch" and "The Best Christmas Pageant Ever". She has been the Newton Berg Middle School Drama Director, which is presented at the Newton Community Theatre and recently became the Newton High School Drama Director. Melinda started the summer program of Children Summer Workshop in 1997 and has benefited the lives of many children in 16 years. Each year she has around 50 children participate. Melinda is always positive and has the ability to bring out the best character of each person that she directs. She is a wonderful asset for the Newton Community Theatre. The AACT Spotlight Award was a special way to show NCT's appreciation.

## **Newton Community Theatre unScene Hero Awards**

NCT is pleased to announce the following unScene Hero Awards given at the annual meeting. This award is given out to someone who makes the actors look fabulous and who assist the directors. The director chooses one volunteer and one volunteer is voted on by the cast of the production. Pictured from left: John Dougan, Mickey Van Baale, Julie Schaeffer, Dallas Schaeffer, Mel Wilson, Cindy Healy, Janice Patterson & Myrna Goodhue. Thank you for your outstanding unScene work!

Children's Workshop – 2012 - Megan Sorensen & Courtney Griggs The Mouse Trap – 2012 - Carolyn McKinstry & Cindy Healy Miracle on 34<sup>th</sup> Street – 2012 - Mel Wilson & Rich Hunt Oklahoma! – 2013 - Eric Petersen, Dallas Schaeffer & Julie Schaeffer The Big Five-Oh – 2013 - John Dougan & Mickey Van Baale NCT Box Office – 2013 - Janice Patterson & Myra Goodhue

